Home   |   Databases   |   Online Catalog   |   Contact Us  

Search form

SLCC Edible Books Festival and Contest

Announcing - Edible Books Festival and Contest!

The SLCC Libraries’ annual Edible Books Festival is coming Wednesday, April 15, 2015 to the Markosian Library main floor lobby, Taylorsville-Redwood Campus!

SLCC Edible Books Contest Rules:

The contest is open to current students, faculty, staff and administrators of Salt Lake Community College. One entry will be allowed per person.

Prizes will be awarded by a special panel of judges in each of these categories:

• Most Edible
• Most Literary
• Most Artistic
• Most Humorous
An additional prize will be chosen by votes by the public, one vote per person, for
• People’s Choice (judged on non-tasting elements only).

This year's judges are:

• Sandra Kikuchi - Director, Faculty Services and Study Abroad
• Susan Neal - Studio 5 TV Cooking Contributor
• Nirali Patel - Diversity and Inclusivity SLCC Student Senator
• Tiffany Rousculp - Associate Professor, English
• Gordon Storrs - Student Advisor and Chair, SLCC Art Committee

Entries will be accepted between 7:30am and 12:00 noon on Wednesday, April 15, 2015. Entry forms will be available to fill out when entries are dropped off. You are permitted to drop off entries for others, but be sure to have all contact information – full name, phone number, SLCC status, and email address - to fill out the entry form for the person whose item is being entered. This contest is free to enter, limit one entry per person. All entries must be original (non-commercial) edible creations.

All entries should be dropped off at the Markosian Library main floor lobby, Taylorsville-Redwood Campus during the times posted. The Library has no facilities to hold entry items earlier than the posted entry times. Serving plates and utensils may be picked up by the end of the contest day, April 15.

Tastings and judging will take place between 1:00 – 2:00pm on April 15, 2015 by a special panel of judges.

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will take place between 12 noon and 2:00pm on April 15, 2015 by the public (one vote per person).

Award winners will be announced the same day at 2:00pm and tastings for attendees will commence at that time until the samples run out. Need not be present to win; winners will be notified.